2022 Top Doctors in San Diego

More than 100 UC San Diego Health physicians in 46 specialties were named “Top Docs” in the annual San Diego Magazine “Physicians of Exceptional Excellence” survey.

These outstanding physicians were recognized among San Diego County's best doctors by their peers. Congratulations to our 2022 Top Docs!

Adult Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology

Dalia A. Banks, MD, FASE
Timothy M. Maus, MD


Engy Tadros Said, MD
Ruth S. Waterman, MD

Cardiothoracic Radiology

Elizabeth K. Weihe, MD

Cardiothoracic Surgery

Eugene Golts, MD

Cardiovascular Disease

Anna McDivit Mizzell, MD
Pam R. Taub, MD, FACC
Marcus Anthony Urey, MD

Colon and Rectal Surgery

Sonia Ramamoorthy, MD

Complex General Surgical Oncology

Jula Veerapong, MD

Critical Care Medicine

Jess Mandel, MD
Angela Meier, MD, PhD
Beverly J. Newhouse, MD
Kimberly S. Robbins, MD
Gabriel Wardi, MD, MPH, FACEP

Emergency Medicine

Theodore Chan, MD, FACEP, FAAEM
Christian M. Sloane, MD
Vaishal Tolia, MD, MPH, FACEP

Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism

Heather L. Hofflich, DO
Kristen Kulasa, MD

Family Medicine

Melanie R. Fiorella, MD
Michelle Lee Johnson, MD
Caitlin MacMillen, DO
Cassandra Morn, MD


Syed M. Fehmi, MD
Thomas John Savides, MD

Geriatric Medicine

Parag Agnihotri, MD
Tessa Antalan, MD
Veronica V. Gonzalez, MD
Roopali Gupta, MD
Aireen Gutierrez, MD
Alison Moore, MD, MPH, FACP
Ramin Motarjemi, MD
Ian C. Neel, MD
Khai H. Nguyen, MD, MHS
Anjoulie Pujji, DO
James R. Templeman, MD, MPH
Lindsey Yourman, MD

Hematology Oncology

Aaron Goodman, MD
Rana R. McKay, MD
Sandip P. Patel, MD
Rebecca A. Shatsky, MD

Hospice and Palliative Medicine

Heidi Yeung, MD


Deepak Asudani, MBBS
Ali Farkhondehpour, MD
Meghan Sebasky, MD
Gregory B. Seymann, MD
Kenton O. Smitherman, MD

Infectious Disease

Shira Abeles, MD
Edward R. Cachay, MD
Nancy Law, DO

Internal Medicine

Ramona Master, MD
Marlene Millen, MD
Amy Sitapati, MD

Internal Medicine Pediatrics

Lawrence Ma, MD

Interventional Cardiology

Mitul Patel, MD

Maternal and Fetal Medicine

Jerasimos 'Jerry' Ballas, MD, MPH, FACOG
Maryam Tarsa, MD

Medical Oncology

Kathryn A. Gold, MD


Joseph A. Abdelmalek, MD
Tamara Rubenzik, MD
Amber Paratore Sanchez, MD

Neurological Surgery

Thomas L. Beaumont, MD, PhD
Alexander A. Khalessi, MD, MBA
Marc S. Schwartz, MD


Marin Alisa McDonald, MD


Rick A. Friedman, MD, PhD

Obstetrics and Gynecology

Ramez N. Eskander, MD
D. Yvette LaCoursiere, MD, MPH
Christine B. Miller, MD


Chris W. Heichel, MD
Bobby S. Korn, MD, PhD, FACS

Orthopaedic Sports Medicine

Bryan T. Leek, MD
Catherine M. Robertson, MD

Orthopaedic Surgery

Scott Taber Ball, MD
Alexandra K. Schwartz, MD


Joseph A. Califano, III, MD
Adam DeConde, MD
Ryan K. Orosco, MD

Pain Management

Timothy Furnish, MD


Bret D. Pickering, MD

Pediatric Anesthesiology

Alyssa Brittany Brzenski, MD

Pediatric Emergency Medicine

Matthew Murray, MD

Pediatric Ophthalmology

Shira L. Robbins, MD


Ashley Clark, MD

Public Health and General Preventive Medicine

Christine Thorne, MD, MPH

Pulmonary Critical Care Medicine

Kamyar Afshar, DO
Daniel R. Crouch, MD
Naveen Gupta, MD
Kim M. Kerr, MD
Robert Owens, MD
Rebecca E. Sell, MD
Bernie Y. Sunwoo, MBBS
Angela Wang, MD

Radiation Oncology

John P. Einck, MD
Jona Hattangadi-Gluth, MD
Gina J. Mansy, MD
Jyoti S. Mayadev, MD
Ajay Sandhu, MD
Parag Sanghvi, MD, MSPH
Andrew B. Sharabi, MD, PhD
Catheryn M. Yashar, MD


Katherine Nguyen, MD

Sports Medicine

Suraj A. Achar, MD, FAAFP
David E.J. Bazzo, MD
Alan Shahtaji, DO
Kenneth S. Taylor, MD

Surgical Critical Care

Todd W. Costantini, MD, FACS

Surgical Oncology

Bryan Clary, MD, FACS
Andrew M. Lowy, MD, FACS
Jason Sicklick, MD, FACS

Undersea Medicine

Ian Grover, MD


Seth K. Bechis, MD
Christopher J. Kane, MD

Vascular Neurology

Royya Modir, MD

UC San Diego Health does not partake in the classification of Top Doc specialties. The list above includes specialty designations as provided by the San Diego County Medical Society.